Together, we can make a Difference

ESG Working Group

The Payments Association’s ESG Working Group brings together thought-leaders on ESG from across our payments community to bring together helpful resources allowing the whole industry to better understand, and act on, the business imperative for having an Environmental, Social and Governance strategy.

Our Working Group hopes to be a meaningful stepping-stone and accelerator to enable ESG to become business as usual for all members of The Payments Association and beyond.

Sponsored by

Strategy and Approach

The XYZ Working Group has clear objectives for what it hopes to achieve, who we do it for, and how we will get there.

Our mission

Hear from our Working Group Leaders, Mentors and Sponsors about our mission and why it is so important.

“Our goal is to build momentum for change. We want to help every member, from start-ups to scale-ups, financial institutions and corporates, on their ESG journeys, via inspiring stories and by offering practical resources to help embed ESG practices authentically into how we all do business.”

Jo Dewar, Project ESG Lead

Team members

Our XYZ Working Group is made up of dedicated individuals who volunteer their time to deliver its objectives

Aaron Elliott-Gross

Director, Group Head of Financial Crime and Fraud

Adrian Quigley

Director of Economic Crime Risk

Alasdair Macfarlane

Head of Fraud Technology

Alia Mahmud

Regulatory Affairs Practice Lead

Andrew Churchill

The Payments Association
Project Member

Andrew Wigston

Financial Conduct Authority
Head of Financial Crime

Annegret Funke

Senior Manager

Anthony Browne

MP & Anti-Fraud Champion

Arber Koci


Bernadette Smith

Starling Bank
Director of Financial Crime Risk & MLRO

Brian Webb

Head of Consumer Security

Carol Buttle

Head of Certification, Assurance and Security

Chad Reimers

TransUnion UK
General Manager of Fraud and ID

Charles Kerrigan

The Investment Association
Advisory Board Member

Chloe Cina

Deutsche Bank
Head of Global Sanctions Advisory

Chris Oakley

Head of Fraud

Chryssi Chorafa

The Payments Association
Project Financial Crime Member

Dan Mount

Principle for Online Safety

David Capezza

Vice President, Risk

David McKay

HSBC Innovation Banking
Financial Crime Risk & Control Manager

Debbie Grant

Global Head of Financial Crime Operations & Fraud

Ed Towers

Financial Conduct Authority
Head of Regtech & Advanced Analytics

Erica Stanford


Francisco Mainez

The Payments Association
Project Financial Crime Member

Graham Mott

LINK Scheme Ltd
Director of Strategy

Helen Fairfax-Wall

Head of Digital and Fraud Policy

Jane Jee

International Compliance Association
Lead for Project Financial Crime, The Payments Association; and Fellow

Joanna Wands

The Payments Association
Project Financial Crime Member

John Roch

Metropolitan Police
Detective Superintendent, Head of Economic Crime

Jonathan Williams

Payment Systems Regulator
Payments Specialist

Kate Fitzgerald

Payment Systems Regulator
Head of Policy

Kathryn Westmore

Centre for Financial Crime and Security Studies
Senior Research Fellow

Keven Hendricks

Ubivis Project

Kevin Penter

Head of FinCrime Compliance

Laura Brown

HM Treasury
Head of Enforcement Strategy

Marc Corbalan

Head of Global RTP, Risk Analytics

Mario Menz

Institute of Money Laundering Prevention Officers
Advisory Board Member

Martina King

Feature Space

Mehtaj Syed

Liink by J.P.Morgan
Client Engagement Lead

Michael Mainelli

The City of London Corporation
Lord Mayor

Mike Hayley

Chief Executive Officer

Mitch Trehan

The Payments Association
Advisory Board / Mentor for Financial Crime

Natalie Kelly

Chief Risk Officer

Nick Perkins

Head of Fraud

Nick Portalski

Chief Technology Officer

Nick Sharp

National Economic Crime Centre
Director of Fraud

Oliver Prill

Chief Executive Officer

Paul Davis

Director of Fraud Prevention

Pete Bridge

Barclays Corporate and Investment Bank
MD, Head of Financial Crime Execution

Philipp Pointner

Chief of Digital Identity

Riccardo Tordera-Ricchi

The Payments Association
Head of Policy and Government Relations

Richard Ahern

Managing Director, Head of Financial Crime

Richard Luff

Vice President, Financial Crimes

Ronya Naim

MLRO & Head of Financial Crime

Ruth Evans

Stop Scams UK

Ryan Platt

The Payments Association
Project Financial Crime Member

Ryan Sutton

Director, Forensic

Sam Wilks

Regional Director

Sara George

Sidley Austin

Sarah Jordan

The Payments Association
Project Finacial Crime Member

Siddharth Venkataramakrishnan

Financial Times
Banking and Fintech Correspondent

Siobhan Ivers

Director, Global Compliance

Taavi Tamviki

Founder and CEO

Tony Sales

We Fight Fraud
Head of Strategic Development and Co-Founder

Tulip Siddiq MP


Victoria Preece

The Payments Association
Project Financial Crime Member

Companies involved

We are grateful for the support of our members who contribute time and expertise to our XYZ Working Group.


Access a selection of recent and ongoing projects and outputs produced by our XYZ Working Group

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Featured Content

Get in touch

Interested in joining our ESG Working Group?


Are you a member of The Payments Association?

Member benefits include free tickets, discounts to more tickets, elevated brand visibility and more. Sign in to book tickets and find out more.


Log in to access complimentary passes or discounts and access exclusive content as part of your membership. An auto-login link will be sent directly to your email.

Having trouble signing?

We use an auto-login link to ensure optimum security for your members hub. Simply enter your professional work e-mail address into the input area and you’ll receive a link to directly access your account.

First things first

Have you set up your Member account yet? If not, click here to do so.

Still not receiving your auto-login link?

Instead of using passwords, we e-mail you a link to log in to the site. This allows us to automatically verify you and apply member benefits based on your e-mail domain name.

Please click the button below which relates to the issue you’re having.

I didn't receive an e-mail

Tip: Check your spam

Sometimes our e-mails end up in spam. Make sure to check your spam folder for e-mails from The Payments Association

Tip: Check “other” tabs

Most modern e-mail clients now separate e-mails into different tabs. For example, Outlook has an “Other” tab, and Gmail has tabs for different types of e-mails, such as promotional.

Tip: Click the link within 60 minutes

For security reasons the link will expire after 60 minutes. Try submitting the login form again and wait a few seconds for the e-mail to arrive.

Tip: Only click once

The link will only work one time – once it’s been clicked, the link won’t log you in again. Instead, you’ll need to go back to the login screen and generate a new link.

Tip: Delete old login e-mails

Make sure you’re clicking the link on the most recent e-mail that’s been sent to you. We recommend deleting the e-mail once you’ve clicked the link.

Tip: Check your security policies

Some security systems will automatically click on links in e-mails to check for phishing, malware, viruses and other malicious threats. If these have been clicked, it won’t work when you try to click on the link.

Need to change your e-mail address?

For security reasons, e-mail address changes can only be complete by your Member Engagement Manager. Please contact the team directly for further help.

Still got a question?